Make New Friends and Keep the Old

In Brownies as a little girl, I remember singing “Make new friends and keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.”  Reconnecting with a childhood friend, I have come to understand that my old friend is gold.  Just like when we were growing up, we share what’s going on in our lives.  Because of our history, we have an appreciation for each other and understanding.  When we get together, I am brought back to her family farm and sitting on the hill talking for hours.  I want to send a special Happy Birthday to my dear friend Kathy.  Here’s to many more Happy Birthdays for you, Kathy!

Leave a Reply

