I Didn’t See It Coming

My obsession with safety began with the crash tested infant carrier that I brought to the hospital for the ride home. Driving 20 mph home, I was so careful with my precious cargo. As a mother I have spent my days protecting my son from harm. And, in time I developed a safety radar and I could prevent most of the accidents. But, what I can’t see are the accidents that come from behind.

Sitting at a red light last night with my son in the car, I was struck from behind by another car that didn’t stop. Because I was focused on the car in front of me, I didn’t see him coming. I guess it’s time to admit I don’t have eyes in the back of my head. As much as I would like to control my son’s whole world, sometimes I just get hit from behind.

Leave a Reply

