The Easter Bunny Doesn’t Visit Anymore

Since my son was 1-year-old, I have loved setting up his surprises every Easter morning. The first year it was a dancing and singing bunny and 6 eggs with soft candies and cookies. His favorite part of the basket was the green plastic grass, which he spread all over the house. I still smile when I think of him screaming with delight and throwing the green grass in the air.

Fortunately, the next year he stopped throwing the grass and enjoyed the candy in the eggs. In addition to his singing bunny, he received Spiderman action figures. And, he danced around the room singing with Spiderman.

Our most fun year was when the movie Hop was in theaters. We built an E.B. at Build-A-Bear Workshop. I placed E.B. on the dining room table with piles of jelly beans around the house for his poop. My son squealed when he saw all of the piles of jelly jean poop. Thus, began a new tradition. Every year since, I have made piles of jelly bean poop around the house from the Easter Bunny.

So, when he told me this year that he knew that I have been leaving the jelly bean poop piles, I was crushed. I thought that I might have one more year of fun before he figured out what I was doing. But, he did thank me for all of the fun over the years and appreciated that we were trying to make Easter special for him. When did your children figure out about the Easter Bunny?

 

Leave a Reply

