Best April Fools Prank Ever!

Over the years, I have put Saran Wrap on the toilets, Vaseline on the toilet seats, hot peppers in my family’s food, as well as toilet papering houses. Most years it has been pretty standard pranks, but one year I went all out.

My senior year in college I was the Managing Editor of the campus paper. The best part of the job was that they gave you a free pass on the April 1 edition. The lead story on the front page was that I had embezzled money from the college. Dressed up like Tammy Faye Bakker to include fake eye lashes and mascara streaking down my face, I was being walked out of my dorm by the campus police (they were in on the joke). To make the story convincing, we had pictures of mansions, luxury cars and yachts that I had purchased with the money I stole. I guess it worked, because students were asking my brother (who also went to my college) whether I was really in jail.

Another story that had students and their families worried was about nuclear missiles on campus. Our college had a dome covering a construction site that winter for a new dorm. I reported that in order to receive funding from the Federal Government, they had to build a secret missile station under the dorm. In the event of a nuclear war, the missiles would come out and launch. To make the story seem authentic, we photo shopped trucks carrying nuclear missiles to the construction site. It work! After the administration received screaming calls from parents, I had to print a retraction in the next paper. Despite the headache, it was a lot of fun and worth it. What is your best prank ever?

Leave a Reply

