Almost the Year Without a Birthday Party

My son’s birthday is one of the biggest celebrations in our family. I plan for months for the perfect party, they are still talking about the parties from years past. However, this year was almost the year without a birthday party. The first sign that there might be trouble was on Friday, when the venue called to ask if we still wanted to have our party Saturday. I looked on the weather channel and it said light snow, so I said “yes, we want to keep our party slot.”

Next, I started receiving emails and texts on Saturday morning from some of the guest. “Are you still having the party?” they all asked. “It’s snowing. Do you think it is safe to drive?” Before making the decision, I looked outside. There was only 3 inches of snow, which is a dusting for us New Englanders. Given the fact that I had all of the food and party favors ready and it didn’t seem that bad, I told everyone that the party was still on. We packed up the car and drive to the site of the party, and set up and waited. Gradually the more adventurous guests arrived. While it was only half of the guests and I have a lot of leftovers, my son was still able to have his birthday party. And, all of those that did attend had a good time. How do you celebrate birthdays with your children?

Leave a Reply

