How do I begin?

How do I begin to honor a man who did so much for so many? Martin Luther King Jr. was born January 15, 1929 in Atlanta, GA, and the world would never be the same.

I was transformed the first time I heard “I have a Dream” in my history class. When he spoke, I heard the call. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a lot to protest in the 1980’s and 1990’s. My teachers said that I was born too late. However, as a journalist in college, I wrote about Apartheid in South Africa, and joined Amnesty International to help fight Apartheid. After college, I marched on Beacon Hill in Boston, MA to fight poverty and homelessness. Do you remember how you felt when you heard the “I have a Dream” speech? Did you hear the call?

Leave a Reply

