Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day! I want to welcome you to I-Am-A-Mom.com. I hope that as you read this blog someone is fanning you and feeding you grapes, because you deserve it. This is a blog dedicated to celebrating Mother’s Day every day. We work very hard all year and deserve to be celebrated more than one day a year.

I want you to sit back, put your feet up and enjoy sharing with your community of mothers. For me, I am thinking of my first Mother’s Day. Instead of breakfast in bed, I had a 5 AM feeding. I spent most of the day crying off and on from joy and hormones. I couldn’t believe that I was finally a mom. My son was scrumptious and I couldn’t hold him enough. When he fell asleep, I made sure to eat a large plate of sushi to make up for 9 months of abstaining. In retrospect, I probably didn’t need any more that day. But, I still enjoy wearing the push present (jewelry) that I made my husband get me.

While I am less emotional today, I am still very grateful to be a mom. To prevent a mess in the kitchen, I requested coffee and fruit for breakfast in bed this morning. Like many other mothers, I requested to go out for dinner (no mess to clean up later). Also, I want take time today to read what you have to say about your Mother’s Day.

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. There’s that one special day reserved especially for the often time thankless but vital position of being a mother. Most of us think that this day is a day for us to kick up our feet and enjoy being spoiled or pampered. Since this job would fall on the shoulders of three children under 11 I knew the odds of being pampered were the same odds as winning the lottery for me. So, I decided to take a different approach. Today would be the day I reflected on my three children and the past 11 years I was blessed to be their mother. Surprisingly, the day was still about me. I gave myself the time to reflect on those special moments I had tucked away in my heart. Each of those moments were special reminders of why I loved them. Without conscience thought I had saved them for the future when I would be tested by the ones I loved so much as they grew older and fought the safe comfort of their mothers arms. Today I took them out for the pure pleasure of remembering and in doing so, remembered how lucky I was to be their Mother.

Leave a Reply

